Currently Featured

Winter Christmas Season 2016

Come see our 10,000  square foot museum at the end of East Main in Portland, Indiana. We are open Tuesday through Thursday, 10am to 4pm through the remainder of 2016.  For other times please phone: 260-726-7168.

Visitors during the Christmas Season are invited to bring items which will be given to the Pregnancy Care Center in Portland.  Some suggested items include diapers, baby powder, lotions, wipes, onesies, washcloths, Desitin, Children’s Tylenol, tissues, blankets, bibs, infant toys, or other items needed for babies.

The museum will be closed on December 23rd and December 30th for the holidays.

 

2017

 

March

Tuesday, March 28

Monthly Program Meeting, 7:00 PM

April

Saturday, April 8

Open House, 1:00-4:00 PM

Friday, April 14

Museum Closed, Good Friday

Tuesday, April 25

Monthly Program Meeting, 7:00 PM

May

Saturday, May 13

Open House, 1:00-4:00 PM

Saturday, May 20

Open House, 1:00-4:00 PM

Tuesday, May 23

Monthly Program Meeting, 7:00 PM

June

Saturday, June 17

Open House, 10:00 – 4:00 PM

(Portland Alumni)

Sunday, June 18

Open House, 1:00-4:00 PM

Tuesday, June 27

Monthly Program Meeting, 7:00 PM

July

Monday, July 10 – Saturday, July 15

Booth at Jay County Fair

Tuesday, July 25

Annual Picnic, 6:30 PM

August

Saturday, August 12

Open House, 1:00-4:00 PM

Tuesday, August 15

Monthly Program Meeting, 7:00 PM

Wednesday, August 23 to Saturday, August 26

Booth at Tri-State Gas Engine & Tractor Show

September

Saturday, September 23

Heritage Festival, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM

Sunday, September 24

Heritage Festival, 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM

October

Tuesday, October 17

Monthly Program Meeting, 7:00 PM

November

Tuesday, November 7

Annual Dinner Meeting, 6:30 PM at Asbury UM Church

Thursday, November 23

Museum Closed, Thanksgiving

Saturday, November 25

Christmas at the Museum, 1:00 – 4:00 PM

December

Saturday, December 2

Museum Candlelight Tour, 6:00 – 8:00 PM

Sunday, December 10

Family Day, 1:00 – 4:00 PM

Saturday, December 16

Christmas at the Museum, 1:00 – 4:00 PM

Friday, December 22

Museum Closed, Christmas

Friday, December 29

Museum Closed, New Year’s

 

 

 

 

 


Museum Hours

Winter is the season when we have fewer visitors at the museum and when volunteers are working to rearrange displays.  This year we will be moving more items into our new addition and renovating other areas.

However, when weather permits, the Jay County Historical Museum will be closed on Mondays.  

The museum is open from Tuesday through Friday at 10 to 4:00 PM. 

Monday and Saturday the museum is open by chance or by appointment.

A new display already in place is about the local Grange.  Stop by and see this in the library showcases.